About Ontario Water Centre

Board of Directors

Annabel Slaight, C.M., O.Ont., Founding Chair, is past Chair of Shaw Communications’ Rocket Fund, was co-founder and President, of the OWL Children’s Trust. She was Ladies of the Lake, co-founder and President and was a provincial appointee to the Lake Simcoe Coordinating Committee. She holds the Order of Canada for outstanding contributions to Canada for nurturing a passion for science and nature among generations of Canadian children.

Robert O. Matthews, Director, is Professor Emeritus Department of Political Science, University of Toronto. He was founding Chair, Alliance for a Better Georgina and former Chair of the Rescue Lake Simcoe Coalition.

Tracy Smith, Vice Chair, was District Manager, Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources, and part of the team that brought the Lake Simcoe Protection Plan into being. He also serves as a trustee on the board of Forests Ontario and is its vice president.

Brian D. Lawson, Treasurer, is Senior Managing Partner and Chief Financial Officer, Brookfield Asset Management Inc. and was the 2013 recipient of Canada’s “CFO of the Year.“ He is a Director of Community Food Centres Canada, Director and Vice Chair, Trinity College School Foundation, and on the Board of Governors, University of Toronto.

Isobel Heathcote, Director, is a Consultant to all levels of government, to First Nations, NGOs, and the private sector. Dr. Heathcote is the former Canadian Co-Chair of the Canada-United States International Joint Commission’s Science Advisory Board and Dean of Graduate Studies, University of Guelph. She is the author of Integrated WatershedManagement: Principles and Practice.

Karen Wishart, Director, as Partner and President of Consulting Matrix leads the firm’s Aboriginal Relations practice. She is former Chair of Community MicroSkills and is currently a patron of People to People Canada.

Colin Dobell, Executive Director (non voting), a founder of the Water Level Alliance and a Former Director of the Georgian Bay Association. He is he former CEO of Telemetry Security Inc.